CHIPPING ONGAR has been an important town and administrative centre for more that 1000 years. The river Roding to the east of the town and Cripsey Brook to the west formed natural barriers against attack, so making it an obvious place to settle. It became the principal settlement in the Saxon "hundred" and was originally known as "Castle Ongar" because of its fine "Motte and Bailey" castle which was built in the 11th or 12th Century. The name Chipping dates from the 14th Century and relates to the ancient market of the town it is derived from "Saxon" words which mean "market " and "grassland".
AN historic association exists between the town and one of the Nations most famous explorers. Livingstone Cottages are so named because of their associations with Dr David Livingstone (a plaque over the central passageway records that "in this room David Livingstone lived in 1838 just before proceeding to his great work in Africa"). AN introduction to Ongar would not be complete without the mention of St Andrew's church, Greensted-juxta-Ongar. Despite recent analysis of the wooded plank walls which indicate that they date from around 1063 AD (rather than the 845 AD date given by an earlier test). It is still acknowledged as the oldest wooden stave built church in the world. In all probability, it was built by Homo Dapifer, the new Norman lord of the manor recorded in the Doomsday Book.
This charming town retains so much of its charm and history whilst offering excellent amenities including both Sainsbury and Tesco stores an excellent Library. Leisure Centre with fitness studio, 25 metre swimming pool, bar and sports hall with badmington, aerobics, squash and tennis. Easy access to both M11 and M25 motorways. Two Junior Schools together with village schools in Fyfield and Moreton.